Books and Bald Babies!

So this half term has been all about docs, dentists and hairdressers – all the things I never normally have time for. I still haven’t gotten around to the opticians though. I seem to be putting that one off as I think I’m going to need glasses for the first time ever, but it’s cool I can rock it – I reckon they’ll make me look more intelligent.

Anyway the kiddies both had gorgeous hair cuts yesterday and I noticed that they changed my youngest’s parting to the other side of her head. No biggie, I was just going to move it back next time I did her hair. Well unfortunately after sleeping on it her parting was trying to move back on it’s own and her hair kept getting in her face so she took action. Yes, that’s right – she cut her hair off to the scalp! OMG my baby balded herself!

(*please note she is not really a baby, just my baby and old enough to know better, otherwise she would be nowhere near scissors*)

Apparently she hadn’t heard that good tip; never cut your own hair. I must remember to warn her off yellow snow.

The other thing I’ve been doing is catching up on my reading. One I was waiting for with much excitement is Third Grave Dead Ahead by Darynda Jones. This is the third in her Charley Davidson Urban Fantasy series and it just keeps getting better and better.  It is goes full circle from laugh out loud like that crazy lady on the bus to real tears.  Those clever economists could match a downturn in productivity with these book’s release dates as I am sure there is an uncanny and purely coincidental increase in sick days.

I have also had the pleasure of Gin Blanco’s company from Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series. If you like your Urban Fantasy gals to kick-ass then do not miss this series. I consumed the first three books one after the other. There are 6 plus a novella so far in the series and I can’t wait to get caught up.

I also took a cheeky punt on Fury of Fire by Coreene Callahan. This is a Paranormal Romance and as such follows a pattern but I was in the right mood for something to cuddle up with. The hero is a big, tough, dominant male and the heroine is feisty and keeps kicking. The twist is that the men are dragon shifters. I have a real soft spot for dragons so that won it for me.

But just a warning – it is very Black Dagger Brotherhood-ish, for me that was a good thing but the Hhardcore Lhadies may draw comparisons.

Next up I shall be reading Kalayna Price’s Grave Witch which has come highly recommended. I shall keep you posted.

6 responses to “Books and Bald Babies!

  1. Hide the scissors next time they go to the hairdressers! lol

    My goodness, you have been busy with your reading! I’ll have to check those books out. 🙂

    • Well it’s easy to whizz through the books when you are avoiding your own coursework 😉 Trust me, these books are way more stimulating than learning about iambic pentameter.

  2. Seriously bald? Wow. Few people have the nerve to do that – how does she feel?
    I always remind mine about ‘never eat yellow snow’.
    You have been busy with reading – I wish I could read more quickly. I did start reading World War Z – about zombies but kept having bad dreams so have stopped reading it :-\

    • Wow – it actually gave you bad dreams! It must be well written.

      It was only the front of her hair, a couple of inches square. She feels like it wasn’t such a good idea now, but at the time she couldn’t see my problem!

Comments are closed.