Cake Mania

I’ve been on a bit of a bake fest as it is birthday season and, according to my hubby and kids, nothing says, ‘I love you’ like a home-baked birthday cake.

Hubby’s fave is a Chocolate Banana Cake, sandwiched with chocolate butter cream. This also works well as a loaf and is fab for using up over-ripe bananas. My youngest ordered a Devils Food Cake – which is yum, but a bit sickly with all the choc-fudge icing. These were both devoured before I thought to snap them!

My oldest baby, who has just turned thirteen (yikes!) has a more mature palate and wanted a Chocolate Orange Cake. The recipe is a bit strange as it has an orange and yogurt (?) but hey-ho, it tastes good.  I decorated it with a Terry’s Chocolate Orange:

I also made a batch of Brownies, which is a first for me. I thought I’d gone wrong as they looked like someone had sat on them! They tasted amazing though – so who cares what they look like? My hubs and kids liked them with Cornish Ice Cream and hot chocolate sauce:

The diet starts again on Monday 😦

5 responses to “Cake Mania

  1. Ooh chocolate banana cake sounds fab! I make banana bread quite a lot but have never thought to add chocolate to the mix… yummmmm…

    • The banana cake is super easy, you melt the butter and sugar and then add all your other ingredients to the pan. When it has cooled off a bit you add 100g of milk chocolate drops and then put it your cake tins. Yummy!

Comments are closed.