Sci-Fi Fantasy Saturday

Hi – where did this week go?? I seem to have lost it to a cold that has outstayed it’s welcome, Halloween and NaNoWriMo.

Speaking of nano I’m going to share the first snippet of my nano work in progress:

All Bitch

I checked my hair and lipstick in the rear view mirror, again, as Justin Timberlake sang about Senoritas on the stereo. The convertible’s roof was down while I waited in the borrowed heat of an Indian summer. I wasn’t used to this vampish look yet. Like a Doubting Thomas I had to smooth the sharp brunette bob to make sure it was real. This was the new me; I had risen and I looked good.

I stopped dying my hair blond after I walked in on my little sister and my fiance doing it doggie-style. I stopped doing a lot of things after that.

I spied one of the guys waving to me in the mirror. ‘It’s all done now Selene,’ he called. At last.

I’m not mad about the title, but it will do for now. Thank you for stopping by to read, feel free to buddy-up if you are one of the crazies partaking in nano and don’t forget to visit the Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday site to find all the other authors sharing snippets – enjoy 😀

22 responses to “Sci-Fi Fantasy Saturday

  1. Nice snippet. Definitely gives a sense of her starting afresh after dumping the cur.

    I’m sure you can reach 50K — rooting for you!

  2. I really liked this snippet – it tells me so much about Selene in so few words. I agree with you about the title – Selene deserves a better epithet. Good luck with NaNoWriMo, by the way!

  3. Fantastic opening. Great hook, though the reality of catching such an act would make me start a few things, too—serial murder for one. 🙂 But great snippet. Looking forward to more. You’ll do great with NaNo! Rooting for you!

  4. That middle paragraph is fantastic. Two sentences – and yet it tells us everything we need to know about where this character is in her life.

    Best of luck with NaNo!

  5. Pingback: SciFi Fantasy Saturday – Yay! | Chantal Halpin·

Comments are closed.