SciFi Fantasy Saturday – Yay!

Hey ya’ll – phewie what a week! It’s been not stop big stuff. Thank America for voting Obama – you guys had me worried there for a sec.

I’ve been back to work after half-term and trying to maintain my nano momentum. It’s been challenging, but so far so good. Here is a nano snippet following from last week. Please remember this is a first draft, un-edited WiP.

All Bitch

It’s amazing how much you can squeeze into a Mercedes SLK. I slid my legs out of the car, the heels had taken a little getting used to, but they were worth it for the attention stealing click-clack, the way they made my hips roll and the feeling of power they imbued.

I sashayed over to my recently recruited removal men. β€˜Oh boys, however will I repay you?’ I smiled, gazing up at them through my lashes and a glazed expression spread over their features. The tall one blushed and rubbed the back of his neck. He was all long limbs and ungainly, like a new born giraffe and he had a small sprout of fuzz on his chin. The other would have been attractive except for his lazy eye. One eye was looking at you and the other was looking for you. It was all I could do to not give him the name of a good surgeon.

Thank you so much for reading – you are all awesome! Pretty please follow the Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday link to find writers posting their own snippets πŸ™‚ Until next time.

25 responses to “SciFi Fantasy Saturday – Yay!

  1. “One eye was looking at you and the other was looking for you.”

    Absolute treasure! I love the voice here. She oozes with newly-discovered female power. Highly entertaining!

  2. Fantastic description here. Love the newborn giraffe line, and the description of the man’s strabismus (I work on a contract for the National Eye Institute). Can’t wait to read more!

  3. Ouch! Power-dressing and the ruthless use of her looks to hold and keep control. Very vivid and effective, and the men are nicely drawn as tools and minions to be commanded. Nice snippet!

  4. As I got further into the song, two songs started playing in my head: The Runaways’ “Cherry Bomb,” and “Heartbreaker” by Pat Benetar. So, I hope that explains the tone this read for me. I loved it. I’m with Anna on the details of the men: great.

    • Woohoo! I’m funny πŸ˜€ Thank you Heidi for your lovely comments – I used to be able to run in heels but I’m not sure I could even walk gracefully in them now!

Comments are closed.