Out with the old…

This has been a big year. I finished an Open University writing course, discovered I liked poetry and learned a lot about my own writing. I also passed with a pretty kick-ass result πŸ˜€

I have since decided not to continue with my studies at this point. It seems like a weird decision, given how well I was doing, but I felt like I was losing sight of my goal. Which was, ultimately, getting published. I want people to read my writing. I want to find those that enjoy it and write for them.

That one got a bit closer. Last summer I self-published a short story which started life as an assignment for my course. I emailed it to Ilona Andrews, the NYT Bestsellers and my favourite writers and asked them if it sucked. They blogged about it and told me it didn’t, in fact, suck πŸ™‚

foulisfair(1)

Cover by Misa Buckley

After that downloads went crazy and some people actually took the time to email me and tell me that they liked it and ask when I had more coming out. WOW. That was a turning point.

In light of that I have written another Sam short story called The Brinded Cat – which will be released very soon.

I also revised Death’s Daughter and submitted it out into the big wide world of publishing.

I completed NaNoWriMo for the first time ever and therefore have another novel to revise and submit along with all my other writing projects.

Hopefully I will accomplish many more of my writing goals in the next year πŸ˜€ What do you want to achieve by this time next year?

Keep reading and writing and have a happy new year!

2 responses to “Out with the old…

Comments are closed.